Recognizing Lifetime Achievement

The American Advertising Federation Silver Medal Award Program was
established in 1959 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advertising as well as have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence, and responsibility in areas of social concern. This local award is the highest level of recognition given by the Akron chapter of AAF and is akin to a lifetime achievement award in advertising.

Award criteria include:

Contribution To Their Company

Must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media, or advertising service.

Creative Ability

Must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.

Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising

Must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to the Community

Should be active in other groups dedicated to human or social welfare in their community.

Silver Medal Award Recipients

2023 Recipient: Carla Davis

Janice Troutman, University Of Akron

Dennis Kleidon, Kleidon & Associates

Janet VonGunten, Veritiv

Doug Smiley, Smiley & Hanchulak

Jack DeLeo, Hitchcock Fleming & Associates

Fred Anthony, Cuyahoga Falls General Hospital

Roger Berk, Sr. WAKR/WAEZ/TV-23

Kitty Brown, Voiceover Talent

Stanley Buda, Jr., Hitchcock Fleming & Associates

Mary Lou Ciborek, WNIR

Robert Crawford, The Crawford Company

Tim Edwards, Inventure Place

Daniel Forrer, Ohio Edison

John DeVries, The Crawford Company

Richard Harris, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Cyrus Hitchcock, Hitchcock Fleming & Associates

Jack Houlette, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Leo LeFort, Hesselbach & Mitten

Edward Lynch, Akron Beacon Journal

Victor Pavona, ETA Systems

Dixie Vinez, FirstMerit Corporation