2022 Annual Meeting Recap

November 4, 2022

The 2022 AAF-Akron Annual Meeting was held Thursday, October 20 at the Knight Stage in downtown Akron. President Brianna Kelly presided over the annual meeting and updated members on highlights from the last year and goals for 2023.

In case you missed it, here’s the recap. You can also watch it here.


Inaugural Penny Award Recipient
Autumn B. Hudson, producer and photographer for Todd Biss Productions won our first Penny Award – which recognizes the accomplishments of ad professionals under 40. Autumn thanked her family and friends as well as VH1 Pop-Up Videos, Kodak disposable cameras and Tomagatchi Pets for her inspiration down the path to photo and video production. Watch her video here.

Volunteer of the Year
Mario Micale, Founder & Principal, Narrative Digital Media, is the 2022 Volunteer of the Year. This longtime communications team member is a rock star and is recognized for his many contributions: creating the video for our Susan B. Kosich Charitable Fund scholarship, pre-show gallery reel for the 2022 American Advertising Awards and live streaming last year’s annual meeting. Watch his video here.

Outgoing Board Chair Recognition
Special thanks to outgoing AAF-Akron Board Chair, Melissa Olson, Manager of Student Affairs at the Myers School of Art at The University of Akron. ​​Melissa has a long history with AAF-Akron. As a student, she volunteered on the American Advertising Awards team. She literally braved a blizzard and honored her commitments to help on judging weekend. Even though she moved away after graduation, she continued to support her local AAF chapter and became involved with AAF-Fresno. When she returned to Akron, she got involved as a professional: serving two years as Awards Co-Chair, two years as Awards Chair/VP, two years as President and two years as Chair of the Board. She’s done it all and we’re so grateful for her years of service and continued support!

Partner of the Year Award
Allyson Bohland, Services and Logistics Manager at Formatech Exhibits, is our Partner of the Year. Formatech is a full service exhibit design company. In conjunction with JD Dumire, our American Advertising Awards Chair, they donated their time and expertise to create and build seven TV display stands to showcase all of our 2022 award entries. For the first time ever, this allowed us to display videos and other digital entries. You’ll see these great displays at the 2023 show!


  1. We won four National Club Awards:
    Chic Davis Memorial Award
    National Student ADDY Winner
    Two Ovation Awards
  2. Gave out our first Mosaic ADDY
  3. Brought events to Youngstown & Canton
  4. Attended Akron Pride, Kenmore First Friday, Kent Connections and more.
  5. Renewed partnership with PRSA Akron and NSME.
  6. Susan B. Kosich Charitable Fund has been a 501(c)(3) for a year now. It has a Gold Seal of Transparency from Candid. You can support the scholarship simply by shopping on AmazonSmile. $7,500 of $27,500 raised.


  1. Always looking for new board and team members to bolster succession and bring new ideas to the table.
  2. Secure finances and increase partnerships.
  3. Updated Member Portal.
  4. Membership Points Program.
  5. Membership rate increase effective Jan. 1, 2023.
  6. In-person Portfolio Review returns in April 2023. Reviewers needed.
  7. Launching a Mentorship Program to connect students and pros.


Brianna Kelly, President/Membership Chair
Marketing Manager, Pritt Entertainment Group

Garrick Black, Vice President/Website Chair
Executive Creative Director, Noir Creative

JD Dumire, American Advertising Award Chair
Senior Exhibit Designer, Formatech Exhibits
Owner/Designer, DesignxJD, LLC

Matt Hogan, Communications Chair
Digital Media Account Manager, Kleidon & Associates

David Flynn, Programs Chair
Professor of Practice, Graphic Design, Myers School of Art,
The University of Akron
Creative Director, David Flynn Design

Michael Pontikos, Education Chair
Senior Lecturer, Youngstown State University
Branding Consultant, Sokitnop Design


Jacob Thomas Scott
Penny Award Design and Photography Partner

Penny Award Video Partner

Restaurant Partner

Annual Meeting Video Partner

Carla Davis Named 2023 Silver Medal Recipient

Carla Davis Named 2023 Silver Medal Recipient

Honored for her outstanding lifetime contribution to the advertising field AAF-Akron is pleased to announce that Carla Davis, Marketing Communications Director at the Akron-Summit County Public Library, is the 2023 recipient of its...

read more
Akron Wins National Awards

Akron Wins National Awards

L-R: Emily Richmond, Brianna Kelly, Ryan Pritt Pritt Entertainment Group Wins National ADDY AAF-Akron is proud to announce that Pritt Entertainment Group won a National Silver ADDY for the 2022 Open Video done for the Seattle Kraken! They...

read more

Happy Father’s Day!

In celebration of Father’s Day, meet Tom and Jacob Scott, a father and son duo who share a passion for photography and for AAF! In 1977, Tom started working in the photography industry as a teenager. His first job was developing color and b&w...

read more